Teacher Troubles

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Marte, Apr 2, 2016.

1. Marte
      No Mood

Marte Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      This is a new thing for me and I feel like it is making me crazy. I am a third grade school teacher. I have always had a very busy, somewhat noisy classroom. My kids are happy, excited learners. Suddenly they have a teacher that is spastic and unorganized. The high pitched constant ringing in my head makes me forgetful and chaotic. I'm not nearly as tolerant of their eight year old noises. I can find no peace. Everyday I say, "It's all in your head. Ignore it." And every day at 3:30 I am completely exhausted and near tears. I have Doctors appointment this Monday and I want to know how best to explain my symptoms and what aspects of my life are relevant.

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. attheedgeofscience
      No Mood

attheedgeofscience Member Podcast Patron Mighty Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Resolved since 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown (medication, head injury)
      After developing tinnitus myself back in 2013, I recall Dr. Wilden - who was my first contact in a very long list of contacts - mentioned a press release he had made earlier that year and which was lying on a table in his reception area. The article concerned how noisy the school environments can be - particularly for children (but invariably the same applies for teachers, I would guess).

Anyway, attached is the press release (in German) - explaining how the classrooms can reach decibels in excess of 100 dB...

Attached Files:

3. Mithrandir
      Ape-like

Mithrandir Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Shock Disorder (TTTS)
      I read a similar study in France. 120 dbl during break when teachers keep an eye on pupils... I feel that when I developed H. I lived surrounded by 2 schools...that's very noisy.