Tell Me the Truth... Is a Cure Realistic?

Discussion in 'Support' started by TheDanishGirl, Jul 3, 2017.

1. TheDanishGirl
      Sad

TheDanishGirl Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2017 (H since 06/2017)
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      long term noise exposure (headphones), maybe some stress.
      I can not accept that this condition is for life, at least not when it is as intrusive as it is right now.

What comforts me is the thought of one day being able to hear silence again and be free of this torment, but how realistic is it really?

I have no knowledge of what is being done in tinnitus research. Are there people working hard out there to find us a cure? And by cure I don't necessarily mean a 100% elimination of tinnitus (although that would be amazing) but maybe a reduction or something that can make it go away for a short while, maybe a couple of hours a day.

Is it realistic to believe we will have something like this in say 10 years? 20 years?.......longer?

• Agree Agree x 7
    2. Foncky
      Tired

Foncky Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      March 2004
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Music. Balloon. Genes.
      It's realistic.

Better live your life now though.

• Agree Agree x 4
      • Like Like x 3
    3. Julien87
      Not amused

Julien87 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise exposure (concert)
      Of course it is. Keep hope, the day will come! I believe we should have satisfying help to reduce the tinnitus suffering in 5 to 8 years (I'm not talking about a complete cure). Just my guess anyway.

• Agree Agree x 3
      • Like Like x 1
    4. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      You are in the very early stages of tinnitus @TheDanishGirl.When you habituate and I believe you will. The thought of finding a cure for tinnitus will no longer be of importance to you. In time you will see.

Michael