Tin-a-tus, Tin-i-tus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by devonlee, Feb 2, 2017.

1. devonlee
      Badass

devonlee Member

Tinnitus Since:
      January 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Hearing Loss of Unknown Origin
      I don't even know where to begin. I'm a nurse. I feel that automatically means that I should have all the answers to this tinnitus problem. Truth is, I wasn't even pronouncing it correctly until recently.

My tinnitus started as an occasional thing, maybe up to a few months ago - I kind of guessed when the forum asked me for a timeline. I associated it watching too much TV or listening to music on my drive home, neither particularly loud though. As of a week ago, the tinnitus became constant. It doesn't keep me awake but I have noticed it is extremely difficult to focus. There has been no loud noise exposure, no head trauma, no whiplash ect. I was actually off work for 6 days when the constant tinnitus started.

I have a referral from my family physician for a hearing assessment. Step One. I'm terrified.
      I've been told the hearing impairment is "worse in the right ear" but she didn't say how bad it was.
      I have noticed over the past year or so, an increase in the amount of times I have to ask someone to repeat something. It drives my boyfriend nuts and has actually caused arguments. Since the constant tinnitus has started, it's so much worse.
      I'm actually terrified that this will never go away. That I will never hear complete silence ever again.
      I'm terrified that I'm slowly going deaf at only 27 years old. I'm scared I won't be able to work if I lose too much of my hearing. I'm scared of raising my theoretical children with a hearing impairment.

Even worse, when I reached out to Facebook for general advice (stupid idea, I know this now), my aunt mentioned that her husband (my biological uncle) had tinnitus prior to being diagnosed with and subsequently died of, a brain tumor.