Tinnitus and Hearing Loss

Discussion in 'Support' started by billhill4000, May 26, 2016.

1. billhill4000

billhill4000 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/06/06
      Hi. If tinnitus is due to damaged hair cells...then logically, would tinnitus diminish as we age as the hair cells die off?

2. RB2014
      Confused

RB2014 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2014 became noticable
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loss of hearing and then stress and anxiety
      Nope, it just gets worse as you get older, but you habituate again.

As the hair cells get more damaged the connection between the hair cells and the brain diminishes. When they die the connection to the brain is gone. Tinnitus occurs because of that loss of connection.

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      billhill4000

billhill4000 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/06/06
      Hi Rb2014... many thanks for your reply. I was wondering if u could just explain it a bit more... i am a little new to this. If the "connection" is gone..u mention tinnitus occurs...but when/why does true hearing loss occur.

Also...just to reiterate, there is no noise damage i am being exposed to...to cause a worsening of tinnitus.

4. RB2014
      Confused

RB2014 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2014 became noticable
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loss of hearing and then stress and anxiety