Tinnitus Ear Infection — Could This Be a Viral Ear Infection?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Charlok, Apr 27, 2016.

1. Charlok

Charlok Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear infection
      Hi guys

I got tinnitus about three weeks ago through an outer ear infection.

The gp prescribed me amoxicillin which didn't work, however the tinnitus went away for two days and then came back.

I'm now on another antibiotic but not seeing any improvement.
      Could this be a viral ear infection?

Tinnitus is ruining my life. I am in my final year of uni and can't revise for my exams because it's so loud. Does anyone have any advice?

Thanks . Charlene x

2. bill 112
      Fine

bill 112 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise exposure
      It's normal for Tinnitus to linger for awhile following an infection.Mate of mine got two nasty outer ear infections from a swimming pool whilst in holidays.After the infection cleared up the ringing slowly sub-sided and was gone completely two weeks later.But nobody here can give you personal medical advice and if your concerned tell your GP so they can investigate further,my own personal recommendation would be to take some Magnesium and Vit B12 and some NAC if you can get your hands on them as they can protect your hearing.Also stay away from loud noises for the time being.
      Best Wishes Stephen.

3. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      After a ear infection it can take a few weeks for tinnitus to settle down .
      Try steam inhalation to clear your tubes from any mucous...lots of love glynis

4. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Charlok

Charlok Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear infection
      Thanks guys :)