Tinnitus Following Use of Antibiotics and How It Has Evolved

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by _Chris, Mar 3, 2016.

1. _Chris

_Chris Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      medication?
      Hello everyone,

I've had tinnitus for about two and a half months. After an initial period of panic, I had reached a point that was fairly stable. Then i got sick and, presently, my tinnitus seems to be going through some kind of flux, or at least I am, and this has been a challenging time. I figured that this was as good a time as any to write this introduction and maybe some of you have had the same experiences.

Some background before I begin. I'm 35 years old. I'm married and have one child. I work as a researcher and I tend to be detail oriented, which as been good where work is concerned but has been less good where tinnitus is concerned. Several years ago I took a course of antidepressants to treat anxiety that was related to some external things. This resolved and I had not taken any of these for nearly 2 years prior to the onset of tinnitus. I never had hearing problems before. I probably went to less than a dozen loud concerts in my life, mostly in my 20s, and I never had any ringing after these. Only once did I have a bit of muffled hearing, which went away in one day. The worst thing I probably did recently was mowing the lawn last summer with headphones on and the volume pretty high. But these of course were things that lasted maybe an hour or two at the longest, and were not done frequently enough to cause problems. I've always slept with a fan in my room, and disliked extreme quiet. So I can't rule out that I didn't have a little bit of tinnitus my whole life that I more or less ignored. However, I can't go back in time and find out.