Tinnitus for a Week But I Think It's Caused by TMD/TMJ?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Cam Cam, Nov 18, 2016.

1. Cam Cam

Cam Cam Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/11/16
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      Hello guys, so I recently developed Tinnitus ontop of my chronic sinus issues i've been battling for nearly 6 months! (I know sucks :( )

Anyway, I did a bit of research and I came across TMD/TMJ.

Anyway for 2-3 weeks I complained to my doctor that i could hear mild ringer in my ear, and complained it could be fluid/mucus in my Eustachian tubes. I left the office and I chewed gum, moved my jaw, opened my mouth thinking it was mucus and I was helping losen it up. Then, I realised that I am also a notorious teeth grinder at night and I am meant to wear a splint that stops it - I never got round to getting it. instead, i wear my guard for braces I had a couple years back which keeps my teeth straight. Anyway, this can help the grinding but not as good as an actual guard splint.

This led me to a eureka moment- I was like "wait a second, that isn't mucus, that's my bloody jaw clicking?!" and the more i had done it over the days thinking i was helping move mucus the louder my T got in my left ear (mild in my right) then all of a sudden today it made a giant crack/clicking sound. Sounds sound weird at times when i hear them, for example songs I listened to last week sound different in certain parts- I think i've done something to the nerves that cross over where I entpret sound and everything is pretty inflammed in my face area.I have also had pain in my checks, jaw, temples, back of the neck and back of the head). I noticed my posture the last 1-2 months has been horrible and I got lazy with it. Leading up to this I noticed my lower back was sore and my necked started to crack and get really, really stiff.