TMD Dr. with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by PatJ, Feb 28, 2018.

1. PatJ

PatJ Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Intense Exercise
      Hello All,

I'm a dentist who has done a residency in TMD and these patients along with chronic headache and migraine patients with and without T, represent about 30% of my practice. I developed T about four years ago. It came on after a very strenuous bicycle training ride. I race bikes and our racing and training is often quite intense. I figured it would go away, but of course it did not.

I have treated a number of patients over the years with T and have had success in eliminating it for certain patients. The patients who respond favorably to therapy are typical either acute TMD patients who have only recently displaced a disc or migraine patients who have T as one of a number of collateral symptoms to their migraines. When I cure their migraines, I cure their T. When we treat the acute disc displacement and return them to stability, the T goes as well. We've also treated and helped a number of patients referred by ENTs who have been under their care and sometimes along with a chiropractor to no avail whose chief complaint is pain and fullness in the ear, who we can diagnose with TMD.

However, I never promise anything when it comes to T. For when it came to physician heal thyself, I haven't been able to. Mine is not somatic. Although it began in my right ear the side I have a partially displaced disc, it has recently popped up in my left ear to a lesser extent as well. I originally felt my T was just an occupational hazard that a good number of dentists suffer from thanks to the high frequency hand pieces we use and the years of no protection. Now, I feel my T is tied to stress and cortisol levels. I have flare ups after long and/or hard rides, which have recently reached levels that have made me step away from the bike.