To Those of You Posting About Suicide, or the Ideation of Such:

Discussion in 'Support' started by tiniturtle, Aug 13, 2017.

1. tiniturtle

tiniturtle Member

Tinnitus Since:
      3/19/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Paromomycin
      I'm no stranger to these feelings. Even before tinnitus. Trust me, I can relate and understand with complete hopelessness, lack of self worth and wanting to end suffering. I have some experience with this (I am also not religious). Right now I am suffering extreme grief from a significant loss. Sometimes I wake up in the morning and I want to die. I'm not going to preach blind optimism. I'll be real. So listen:

1. Everyone dies. We all get there eventually. What's the hurry? Make the best of it while you're here. We only get one chance.

2. There is a vast chasm between life, and it's experiences, and our expectations of such. We live in a time of fairly little danger, or threat to our lives on a daily basis. There are no promises of long life, and good health. This is not guaranteed. You are not a victim. Do not victimize yourself. You are experiencing the human experience. We all suffer to different degrees and with different things. Perspective matters here.

3. No, you may not be "cured". But you will get "better". Whatever shape "better" comes in. Habituation, disappearance of symptoms, reduction of anxiety. Across the board, the vast majority of people get better in some way.

4. Time. Yes, give it time. Another symptom of modern society is that we want instant results. Stop thinking about it and go LIVE. Do that, and it will get better on it's own without you realizing it. Even if it doesn't, at least you haven't wasted any of the valuable time you have left on this planet to make yourself happy or do something meaningful. Don't stop living. That's the worst thing you can possibly do. It will only exacerbate your symptoms also.