Typical Concert dB Level

Discussion in 'Support' started by Greg Clarke, Jun 16, 2015.

tinnitus forum
    1. Greg Clarke

Greg Clarke Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2006
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma, Live Music
      Hi All,

I know there's been a few threads on concerts but I have a slightly different angle. I've decided I'm definitely going to hit a few shows over the coming months.

I was however trying to find out what a typical dB level would be at an average show. The only thing I can find online states that a loud rock concert is in excess of 120dB. As a musician myself and someone who has attended many shows over the years my guess is that level is referring to large arena concerts with pyro etc and not a typical show in a small to medium sized venue. I do realise that it will vary depending on the band but would those with experience agree that a typical medium sized rock gig falls in the 85-95dB bracket??

Having never measured it myself I'm at a bit of a loss and I've also exhausted the route of mailing a few venues to ask for figures but so far not one of them has responded.

Thanks in advance

2. SoulStation
      No Mood

SoulStation Member Ambassador Team Tech

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise / Possible Medication
      I'd say its more in the 100-115 dbA range but it all depends on where you're standing in relationship to the speakers/acoustics of the room/amount of sub-bass frequencies.

• Agree Agree x 2
    3. Greg Clarke

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2006
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Could be in that bracket alright, but I was thinking that would be nearer the stage. Forgot to add I'd have no intention of standing that close!

Thanks for responding

• Helpful Helpful x 1
    4. Ricky81
      Worried

Ricky81 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      July 14, 2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Assault/Contusion/Ear Infection
      Noise meter app on Android works great.

5. awbw8
      Balanced