Ugh I Guess

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Shawty, Oct 28, 2015.

1. Shawty
      Insomnious

Shawty Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Probably an ear infection or damage to the eardrums.
      So I'm brand new to tinnitus. I am already looking at ways to help it but I'm also already feeling pretty discouraged. I wont let it get to me as much as possible but I have some pretty bad anxiety disorder so idk.

2. papu
      Chatty

papu Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma
      i hate to sound like a broken record but here is my advice since you are fairly recent:

1) see an ENT as soon as possible
      2) after seeing your ENT if the tinnitus is not gone by two weeks and if its acoustic trauma, infection or colesterol related (those are the cases that has worked for at least three people), try to get yout doctor to prescribe trobalt or retigabine as soon as possible. Read the retigabine thread.

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Shawty
      Insomnious

Shawty Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      @papu Thanks so much, that really helps. I think I'll try some of those things, but I've heard medication doesn't help most people. But again, thanks for helping, and I'll definitely try all my options. :)

4. billie48
      Sunshine

billie48 Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2009
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      not sure
      Welcome to TT, @Shawty. Here we understand your struggle with T as many were where you are now. So you are never alone here. I will try to offer a few suggestions:

Masking to help with anxiety: