Vibration Upsetting Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Support' started by ClubRacer, Sep 1, 2018.

1. ClubRacer

ClubRacer Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      One night in a club
      I'm wondering if vibration can upset tinnitus?

I work in construction and since the night club incident I’ve been very careful around loud noises but I’m also into my cars and have loud exhaust.

I race certain ones on track and with solid mounts the inside of the car would be full of vibration.

I wear my musician ear buds and it’s not loud in my ear but my whole body is vibrating.

I’m just wondering can this upset my tinnitus?

I’ve had a bad spike out of the blue about 3 weeks ago now and still hasn’t really settled down and I’ve no cause for hoping it settles down to a not noticeable state again....

Been to doctors and hospital and my hearing, reflex’s etc are all great so nothingness has changed there.

2. RingerBell

RingerBell Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise
      Hi @ClubRacer.
      Sound is basically created by vibrations. If the engine and tyres make the car to vibrate heavily, the vibrations can create some additional sound pressure in low frequencies, along with the normal noise from the engine and tyres.

We hear low frequencies generally softer than high frequencies, and the A-weighted decibel scale (dB(A)) is commonly used because of this. Recommendations for noise exposure limits are usually in dB(A). However, there are other scales as well like C-weighting (dB(C)) which represents more the true amount of sound pressure, and can be useful if there's lot of low frequency noise.

Last edited: Sep 1, 2018
      • Agree Agree x 2
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      ClubRacer

ClubRacer Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      One night in a club