What Do You Do When Your Spouse Doesn't Get It?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Forever hopeful, Sep 7, 2015.

tinnitus forum
    1. Forever hopeful

Forever hopeful Member

Tinnitus Since:
      August 2015
      I am a newbie. Just shy of two weeks in. Loud rock concert. I have my first ENT appt Thursday. Anyway, my husband refuses to accept that this may not go away. He read on line that tinnitus can be caused by middle ear fluid, which I have bilaterally. I have read this as well but a family friend,p with who I spoke, who is a retired ENT, said it is likely a delayed traumatic response to the concert ( ringing went away after concert but came back 2 days later), which ENT thinks may resolve once my ears heal but not sure when. My husband has glommed on to that and has convinced himself that this will go away because we know some people for whom that was true. Well that would be just lovely but not necessarily likely. He thinks my posting and reading on this site is a negative obsession with the T and that I am focusing on the negative and the worst case scenario. I have been depressed, anxious and unable to sleep. Basically going through the motions of daily life except yesterday when I had a good day. He does not get it and really does not want to talk about it. Am I overreacting? I think my T is probably fairly mild based upon what I have read on line I only hear it in mostly dead silence or when tv is on low in an otherwise quiet room. Most ambient noises of the day and office tend to mask the T. I asked him to get me a nice noise machine for my birthday in anticipation for when the air conditioners come out ( live in North East) and he said shouldn't you wait until after your ENT appt as if they are going to offer me some magical cure. Anyone had that experience? How did you cope ?