When A Hobby of Fixing Old Computers Meant to Calm You Down Bites Back on Your Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Dr. Stephen Nagler (MD)' started by Tonny, Dec 22, 2019.

1. Dr. Nagler is not answering questions.
    Dismiss Notice
    1. Tonny
      Scared

Tonny Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise/Stress
      Hello!

We spoke some months ago. It was a good session.

I have been trying to live as normal as possible, and I have a hobby fixing old computers (I am an engineer of electronics).

However two weeks ago, one capacitor blew on one of my projects while sitting close to it. It was a small 1000uF 16v capacitor. Did not think too much of it until my tinnitus spiked a week ago. Ticking, cracking, fullness in my ears and the high frequency hissing is a bit louder.

I have not found one single occurrence where someone damaged their ears from such an incident though. It was surprising, but I would not say it was extreme. No muffled hearing or ear pain afterwards. It was like someone slammed a hammer once on the table.

Now, I am sort of reset back to where I was 1.5 years ago. It's so darn hard to try to live normal, because it's almost impossible to avoid small accidents (slamming doors is my usual mishaps).

Should I start wearing earplugs all the time, even indoors, I wonder...

2. Dr. Nagler

Dr. Nagler Member Clinician Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1994
      Hello @Tonny -

Thank you for the feedback on our Skype session. I am glad to hear that you found it to be helpful.

As far as the increase in the loudness of your tinnitus, I do not see how a noise incident two weeks ago could cause a spike that began one week ago. So something else must have been the culprit - or possibly it just happened on its own.