Why Does Tinnitus Take Up to 2 Years to Go Away?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Mathew Gould, Apr 12, 2018.

1. Mathew Gould

Mathew Gould Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      6/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Neck/Jaw misalignment
      I've had tinnitus for 9 months now and it's gotten a lot better. I got tinnitus from neck/jaw misalignment.

Why does it take up to 2 years to go away?? Is it just the ears healing themselves??

2. dm222
      Fine

dm222 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2018/02/23
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      after cold and ear syringing 20-30% of volume 06/2018
      Im not a scientist but ive read somewhere that after 12 months the damaged hair cells start to die and are replaced by non function new hair cells.
      Maybe thats why...

Also thats why some treatments could be effective up to one year and useless after.

3. Philippe79

Philippe79 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      June / 2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      H.F.H.L.
      I thought that once damaged hair cells die that’s it.

• Agree Agree x 1
    4. Tinker Bell

Tinker Bell Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      SSHL from virus
      It is. Inner ear hair cells cannot regrow. Once they’re gone or broken, they’re not replaced.

• Like Like x 1
    5. Kelvin

Kelvin Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      June 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Dental Work
      Im Three years in and its SLOWLY getting better...hang in there folks ! X

• Like Like x 5
      • Hug Hug x 1
      • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    6. Apolonia
      Disappointed

Apolonia Member

Tinnitus Since:
      December 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced, acoustic trauma
      Non functioning hair cells? Where did you read that? Could it be that those are the supporting cells that the Frequency Therapeutics are trying to activate???? o_O I am confused...