Would Listening to a Low Frequency Static Noise Positively Influence Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Support' started by fr78, Oct 3, 2012.

1. fr78

fr78 Member

I wonder if anyone has experience with this..

I spent the last weeks all day on my laptop for revision. Unfortunately it makes a high frequency noise and now my tinnitus has gotten worse. Before I start to panic, I was wondering:

If the high frequency noise can permanently change my tinnitus (make it worse) would listening to white noise, low frequency tones influence the tinnitus too (positively)?? Anyone has tried this?

Or would listening to a low frequency static noise just worsen it even more?

2. Fish
      Balanced

Fish Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      July 2012
      I am no doctor but I think it's impossible for any kind of noise at low volume cause/worsen tinnitus. Unless your laptop is as loud as lawnmower :)

Just a thought for you - sitting too much can cause spine problems which can cause tinnitus. This is one of possible causes of my T. I had a neck RTG and it revealed a hypolordosis, most likely caused by my work, hours in front of a computer daily.

3. click
      Blah

click Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      06/04/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Not sure
      I sometimes wonder whether listening to my mix of rain and white noise makes my T worse. It gets me through the worst times because it half 'masks' it but I have wondered whether its having a detrimental effect. Sometimes my T seems to take on the sound that I've been listening to (if it's been for long enough). I'm probably imagining it but it's happened enough times for me to wonder.

If I listen to it all night (instead of just pure rain sounds) I wake up with a major headache. Catch 22 - T keeps me awake without it on the loud nights - white noise mix lets me sleep (a bit) but gives me this morning headache... aaarrggh (n)

4. DezDog
      Angry

DezDog Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2009