You Can Survive Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by Userhx35543, Oct 7, 2016.

1. Userhx35543

Userhx35543 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Machinery and concerts
      I posted my story in another thread. But maybe this can help others.

My name is Craig. I have had mild T for years. From power tools and loud concerts. I got used to it. Even used ear plugs to harness the T when I needed to sleep. Used it to drown out other sounds at night.

Recently developed SSHL or Ménière's disease. Not sure which one. ENT wasn't sure either. Got the whole gambit. Full feeling in ear, muffled hearing, LOUD T. All except vertigo. Thank God. ( or at least not yet )

Worst for me is the loss of hearing. About 30 db. High frequency.

It seems I have lived with T for so long that this much louder version is annoying, but not debilitating. And have no idea how to get back to normal.
      I am a mechanic, so I work in an environment that masks my T most of the day. And I can use my loss of hearing and louder T to mask out noises at night. It's annoying, but it won't stop me.

For those of you that have a mild case and can recover from it, I envy you. For the rest, don't get sucked in to that place. The more you think about it, the more it will consume every second of your life. And that alone would drive anyone nuts. JUST IGNORE IT. It will still be there, but, more and more, you won't notice it. Accept it. But don't stop hoping that one day it will just be gone.

And one thing is for sure, people who don't have T or hearing loss don't understand.

I hope my story can help some of you realize that you can learn to live with it and not let it destroy you.

• Like Like x 4
    2. PMc
      Creative

PMc Member

Manchester, England (now living in Lincolnshire)
      Tinnitus Since:
      05/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Most likely due to antibiotics after a major operation
      Wise words, Userhx35543 ...