Tinnitus & University/College Success

Discussion in 'Support' started by Whatsthatringing, Jan 27, 2015.

1. Hello forum.

I recently developed moderate T in both ears due to traumatic injury to my head from a car accident. I have been sharing a space with T in my head for 2 months now.

My question pertains to anyone who enjoys reading, or who is in or taken University/College classes. I have always wanted to be a teacher and have a few questions you may be able to answer.

Does Tinnitus affect your studying/reading habits? Does T affect your ability to memorize notes and reading material? If so how?

I have looked up studies done on groups of people with Tinnitus and apparently these people were affected so bad by T it caused them to have lower test scores. I do not believe this to be %100 true.

I love reading in quite rooms, even with my friend in my head ringing. I find T has no effect on my cognitive abilities, concentrating or memorization.

My question is as stated above.

Does Tinnitus affect your studying/reading habits? Does T affect your ability to memorize notes and reading material? If so how?

2. Cowboy

Cowboy Member

Tinnitus Since:
      5/5/13
      No it doesn't interfere with anything, the more you try to fight it, the louder it gets, I'm new to the forum, just signed in right now actually, and as I was reading some posts I was laughing... I remember when I had all these questions and no solid answers from no one, frustrating times, believe it or not you get used to it, (I read that somewhere and didn't believe it) the more you accepted the lower it gets, to the point you hear it if you listen for it, mine has reduced to a 1.5 to 2 from a scale from 1 to 10 and that's only at night, sometimes I hear it in the day but that's maybe once or twice a month and only for a couple of minutes to maybe an hour.