50 Years of Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by James Dollhausen, Feb 14, 2017.

1. James Dollhausen

James Dollhausen Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      ear infections and loud noise
      My tinnitus began in my right ear when I was about 19 years of age and I was a freshman in college. The cause was clearly several ear infections over the years as well as surgeries. The bones in my middle ear deteriorated to the point that they are almost none existent. So being that I'm 72 I've had it for about 53 years. I think it greatly contributed to my flunking out of college after my sophomore year because I had great difficulty concentrating on studying for exams and during exams. But I seemingly overcame that and went back to college a year later and ended up getting my degree. I also went on to get a Master’s Degree in Urban Planning. Throughout my adult life I have had several surgeries on that ear for a few Chalesteatoma’s, which is basically a benign tumor in my mastoid area. So my ear canal is larger than normal being that a significant amount of tissue has been removed through 4 surgeries. I believe that these surgeries added some noises.

The noises I experience in this ear include a loud humming noise, Like that from a machine shop, jet noises, millions of mosquitoes, flocks of Birds, roaring noises, rock bands, and voices like on a talk show and a circus barker. The volumes of these noises range from Very soft to Extremely Loud to the point where they just about drive me crazy. I Can't sleep without sleeping pills.

The left ear Cochlea was injured through a loud noise about 8 years ago which Latin the U stereocilia and now sound coming into that ear is loud and distorted so I can hardly understand voices in certain ranges especially women's voices and foreign voices. The tinnitus in this ear is mainly restricted to Mosquitoes, ringing and humming noises.