Being Harassed at Work Over a Hearing Issue — Help [USA]?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Wtfok55, Mar 17, 2020.

1. Wtfok55

Wtfok55 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      NA
      So basically, I work as a web dev and worked here for about a year at this job. I recently changed fields and so I am new to the field, but enjoy it and want to get better in it with programming.

However, my current boss for whatever reason seems to want to fire me and harass me. It is clear he wants to get rid of me, so I am doing everything I can to find a new job. But with the economy tanking and other things, I don’t know how long that will take.

One issue I am having at work is related to hearing issue. Pretty much in every meeting that involves a teleconference, they turn speakers too loud or are in noisy environment and turn up speakers.

Basically, boss was taking steps to formally make complaint against me and one thing he complained about was participation in meetings. Claimed I wasn’t doing as much work as others, even though I had quantitative evidence that showed otherwise. Many other things. Went to HR over being treated unfairly, and thing calmed down for a month but are starting up again.

I said that the reason meetings can be an issue at times is because speakers get turned up too loud, I have to put in earplugs, and then I can’t hear meeting well.

After said this, bosses boss and is agreed to let me call into meetings as long as I participated.

So far I did that and it helped. I also participated more in meetings. But, my boss claims I am not. When asked how he could tell, how much more time did I not talk in meetings vs. now, etc., he could not answer. He just claims it’s his perception.

So now he is claiming I have to fill out some form and see a doctor to do what is already easily done, that I remote into meetings.