Do Noise-Cancelling Headphones Help?

Discussion in 'Support' started by rod77, Apr 21, 2016.

1. rod77

rod77 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      not sure; possible hereditary, possible loud music
      I'm new to tinnitus; its just whammied me hard in the last month or so and I'm really struggling.

I wake up in the middle of the night now and the ringing is so loud I cant get back to sleep. Often this has happened to me in the past, and I get up and read for awhile. However, that was before, when I could experience silence, and now I cannot.

I was wondering if getting some noise cancelling headphones to play low volume soothing sounds or light classical music would help mask the noise while I'm reading.

Could this help or would it make things worse? I'm a musician and I'm worried that I'll never be ever to use headphones again...

any help would be appreciated. I have my first audiologist appt in a couple of weeks.

2. Aussie Lea
      Dramaqueen

Aussie Lea Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2013
      A better solution would be to buy open-back headphones for reading. Why do you want noise-cancelling?

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      rod77

rod77 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      I dont know, I'm so new to this I just guessed they would be good. Why do you suggest open-backed phones? Are they better for masking tinnitus? I'm not arguing at all, I'm trying to figure out what my options are. Do you have any suggestions for particular models of open-backed phones?

4. seal

seal Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2007
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      acoustic trauma