Does Anyone Have Anxiety-Induced Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Melissa101, Jan 10, 2017.

1. Melissa101

Melissa101 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Anxiety
      Hi All,

I'm new to all this tinnitus malarkey and I'm just looking for anyone who may share some of the experiences I have had and might be able to offer some advice. I think I've always had a low ringing and buzz in both ears which has never bothered me at all. I'm a suffer of generalised anxiety disorder which comes and goes over the years and varies in intensity. As anyone with GAD knows the symptoms and many and varied.

I've had a relapse with my anxiety over the past few months which has made me obsess on tinnitus. This started because I now experience, 2-3 times per day, an extremely loud ringing in my ear which last for between 5-10 seconds before disappearing. It's usually the left ear but can switch to the right and is often associated with the onset of a panic attack (although I'm not sure which cause which). The low level ringing and buzzing in my ears has now either became louder or appears louder because I've been made more aware of it. I'm 100% certain that my anxiety has caused this. I've had no exposure to loud noise and my hearing has been tested and is perfect, so no hearing loss.

I was just wondering if there any anxiety sufferers on this forum who can offer advice as to whether these symptoms disappear when the anxiety fades. I know I'm doing the absolute wrong thing by obsessing over this but there are so many horror stories out there about tinnitus that it's hard not to be frightened by it.

2. Sam Bridge

Sam Bridge Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud music/gigs probably