Hello, New to This Support Forum

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Tinalou, Feb 22, 2018.

1. Tinalou
      Confused

Tinalou Member

Tinnitus Since:
      January 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi everyone,
      I wanted to introduce myself, I am new to this support forum. I started first symptoms of pulsatile tinnitus early January 2018. I had a severe cold after Christmas, and that turned into a sinus infection. My primary care physician prescribed an antibiotic (amoxicillin) for about a week, which only helped my pain symptoms in my sinus' but did not clear up my head enough to get rid of the ringing. I went back to her after I finished the antibiotics and she then prescribed a prednisone pack and Zyrtec D for about 7 more days to try to clear up my head and her thought was that the prednisone would help to open up passageways. No luck with that.

Then I was referred to an ENT, he put me on Mucinex and flonase sprays for two weeks, and yes no success.
      :(
      At this point, I am super frustrated about this noise, no sleep and very irritated. I have read on here that is pretty common to feel this way but I am really trying to get to the point of "getting used" to the noise since that is what most people that I have spoken to say will happen eventually. Back to my treatments, the ENT sent me to an audiologist to check my hearing to see if I have hearing loss, still waiting on those results.

I go back to ENT this Friday, he mentioned that he will do a dopler ultrasound to check my carotids to rule that out and I am all for that to begin to eliminate all worry that this if a serious issue. What I am hoping to get out of this forum is to share my story and maybe come up with some type of ideas of how to cope with this without going crazy. So far I have used masking noises to help me sleep which is working to a certain extent, and using some sleeping aids that doctor prescribed OTC. Thanks for reading.

• Hug Hug x 2