Hello!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by madsci, Aug 22, 2016.

1. madsci

madsci Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/15
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Stress, Low-flying military aircraft, nicotine together
      Hi all,

I've been suffering from T for about a year now. Every day feels like a battle that I don't want to fight anymore. I've been on several treatments from my T/Migraine doctor, and none of them seem to work. The only thing that seems to relieve it for some time is alcohol, which comes with it's own set of baggage.

I'm a molecular biologist doing computational work in vaccine research, specifically protein-design. It is like being a mechanic and not being able to fix your own car.

I think my T was caused by sinus issues, extreme stress, and then a single day that I had too much nicotine from my vape while a military airplane flew very close to the ground. After this, the sound never went away. These are now all my major triggers that can make it worse: Stress, sound, nicotine.

I carry around cotton for my ears, which I wear most of the time. This helps, as sustained sounds can keep it going. I've decreased the nicotine as much as possible, which has helped, and intend to be off completely soon.

As for the molecular side of things, After some research, perhaps my T was originally caused by the nicotinic acetylcholine receptor, specifically the alpha9-alpha10 nicotinic acetylcholine receptors in the cochlea. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2737545/

Perhaps this could be the hope I'm after, and others here?, but I can't find any real treatments hitting it.

Sorry for the very somber post, but this I cried as I signed up for this site.

I hope to find some solace some day, as I hope you all do to.

Sincerely,
      -Jared

• Hug Hug x 2
      • Like Like x 1
    2. billie48
      Sunshine

billie48 Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2009
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      not sure