I Have an Idea on How to Possibly Reduce Tinnitus from Benzo Use or Withdrawal and Need Feedback

Discussion in 'Support' started by JasonP, Sep 11, 2016.

1. JasonP
      No Mood

JasonP Member

Tinnitus Since:
      6/2006
      WARNING: I AM NOT A SCIENTIST OR DOCTOR. I AM ONLY TRYING TO COME UP WITH SOME IDEAS TO LOWER TINNITUS. THE FOLLOWING IS NOT TO BE TAKEN AS FACT, BUT ONLY MY IDEAS. PLEASE DO NOT TAKE ANY PRESCRIPTION DRUGS WITHOUT A DOCTOR'S APPROVAL.

I WOULD LOVE FEEDBACK!! IF THIS IDEA IS WAY OFF I WILL HAVE TO ASK MARKKU OR STEVE H OR SOMEONE TO DELETE THIS.

If you think this information has some good points, please talk it over with knowledgeable people to see what they say.

Benzodiazepine tolerance or withdrawal can have the following effects:

“The increased GABAA inhibition caused by benzodiazepines is counteracted by the body's development of tolerance to the drug's effects; the development of tolerance occurs as a result of neuroadaptations, which result in decreased GABA inhibition and increased excitability of the glutamate system; these adaptations occur as a result of the body trying to overcome the central nervous system depressant effects of the drug to restore homeostasis. When benzodiazepines are stopped, these neuroadaptations are "unmasked" leading to hyper-excitability of the nervous system and the appearance of withdrawal symptoms.”

“Excessive glutamate activity can result in excitotoxicity, which may result in neurodegeneration. The glutamate receptor subtype NMDA is well known for its role in causing excito-neurotoxicity. The glutamate receptor subtype AMPA is believed to play an important role in neuronal kindling as well as excitotoxicity during withdrawal from alcohol as well as benzodiazepines. It is highly possible that NMDA receptors are involved in the tolerance to some effects of benzodiazepines.”
      Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benzodiazepine_dependence