Introducing Myself After 4.5 Months with Tinnitus and Reading Tinnitus Talk

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Edu, Apr 14, 2016.

1. Edu
      Curious

Edu Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown/acoustic trauma
      Hi,

My name is Edu, I live in Madrid with my girlfriend, I am 34, engineer and have been several months in both T and TT. I have read a lot of info in this site but almost this is my first time writing (only once I wrote that I was trying to participate in AM-101 trials).

I was a very happy person last year. A small promotion at work, plans to get married, plans with my friends...
      On December the 6th, a very common day, I started hearing a high pitched sound in my left ear. I thought it was a kind of ear infection and that it would fade by itself. Some days later I visited my GP and she mentioned to me a new word: "acúfeno" (Spanish for tinnitus). When I got home I googled it and could not believe this was going to be chronic. I visited an ENT doctor who told me it would likely disappear, but I could not believe him. He told me I had hearing loss in high frequencies, but he told me not to worry.
      Those first weeks were horrible, I was a wreck, crying, panic attacks, starting to consider the big "S"... I lost 8 kilos in one month. If it hadn't been for my girlfriend, family and friends... I looked for any solution, no matter how crazy it was. Homeopathy, acupuncture, any magic medicines or patches, etc. I read a huge amount of information here in TT and other sites in Spanish.