Is There Any Way to Measure the Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Support' started by issam, May 12, 2017.

1. issam

issam Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      load voice
      Is there any way to let people know what is the tone and the volume level of the sound in my head?

• Like Like x 1
    2. GregCA
      Jaded

GregCA Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Otosclerosis
      Yes, you can do a pitch and volume matching either yourself or with the help of an audiologist.

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      issam

issam Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      load voice
      Thanks for the reply, really I am a developer of android applications and I am trying to make an application to measure and describe my tinnitus but I have a problem that is people will hear something else in volume and tone if I have hearing loss :(

4. GregCA
      Jaded

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Otosclerosis
      Right... but you can normalize it if you know your hearing threshold at the T frequency (look up dB SL i.e. Sensory Level). It's not perfect.

5. Alue
      No Mood

Alue Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma
      I don't think you can reliably do volume matching by yourself.

• Agree Agree x 4
    6. GregCA
      Jaded

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Otosclerosis
      Why not?

7. maltese
      Batty

maltese Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Club
      To be fair, if you want to show other people how it is to live with tinnitus, you can play the tone way louder than it really is 'in your head'. It will give them a better idea of how bothersome it is than an actual representation. Why?

The worst thing about T is that it never goes away, not the tone itself...

• Agree Agree x 1
    8. Jason C

Jason C Member

Tinnitus Since:
      29 May 2016