Ménière’s and Improvement After 2 Years

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by Dominic1955, Jun 24, 2018.

1. Dominic1955
      Artistic

Dominic1955 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      4/2/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Idiopathic hearing loss
      On April of 2016 i suddenly lost hearing in my left ear, accompanied by extremely loud tinnitus and hyperacusis. I developed severe anxiety, unable to sleep for weeks!

Lost 15 pounds and became quite depressed. I was a 61 year old physician, after loosing my wife to cancer 6 years prior I was starting to enjoy my life. Tinnitus was torturing me! I also had severe hearing loss and could not tolerate certain noises, could not empty the dishwasher slight banging of dishes would cause unbearable pain! The crying of my grand children was intolerable, everything sounded like a broken speaker. I had intratympanic steroids, oral steroids, hypnosis, acupuncture, tinnitus retraining therapy, meditation!all kind of medications!

On my darkest moments I planned my suicide, luckily my son took all my weapons out of the house, I became a recluse. I stopped working for months, I could not concentrate on patients.

Then after 4 or 6 months vertigo started!

Suddenly I found myself spinning uncontrollably vomiting sweating for 3 to 4 hrs unable to stand or even crawl, then I was unsteady and weak for weeks. I had multiple episodes, I felt my life was over.
      I reached out to world class otoneurologist I was told I had Ménière’s disease, although I was suspicious I was hoping for better news. I was offered intratympanic gentamicin injections or a labarynchtectomy to destroy my inner ear. Then slowly my hearing got better, tinnitus decreased, hypercusis vanished!