MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'Support' started by Paul David, Apr 23, 2017.

1. Paul David

Paul David Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Late 90's
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud music and computer noises
      Hi, I'm an audio engineer.

I switched from a desktop iMac to a MacBook Pro a few days ago. I spent all day uploading endless software revisions until I finally got everything gelling on the new MacBook Pro.

Then I tried to go to sleep. There is a constant high pitch ringing in my ears.

I'm very familiar with this sound. I suffered from it for years and now I know exactly why. Computer fans.

The iMac doesn't have them. The PCs I used to work on did. Now this MacBook does. I always thought it might be the fan or the hard drives but this MacBook Pro has a Solid State Drive so now I know for certain the cause of my incessant high pitch tinnitus.

I'm sure there are a lot of different causes for different people but this was a significant discovery for me. If you use a computer with fans try not using it for a an extended period of time. (I remember it took a while for mine to fade-months maybe?) but now that it's back I literally want to claw my ears off and I'm about to take a significant financial loss to switch back to a fanless system.

On a related note. Anybody want to buy a MacBook Pro? ... ehem

Paul David

2. 3ri0w

3ri0w Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2012, H 2016, 12/2018(?)
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      loud noises, ringing came back 12/2018 after 1year of silent
      How does the iMac cool itself down if it doesn't have fans :p?

Do you mean your T went away after using a fanless computer? And came back again after using a computer that fans?

3. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      Could just be stress linked changing everything around.
      A bit of brain overload !

Love glynis

• Like Like x 1
    4. linearb
      Psychedelic