Need Reassurance to Go on a 12 Hour Bus Ride — No Horror Stories Please...!

Discussion in 'Support' started by CDNThailand, Dec 7, 2016.

1. CDNThailand

CDNThailand Member

Tinnitus Since:
      11/17/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      MP3, Stress, TMJ
      No horror stories or responses to make me panic please!

I have Tinnitus AND Hyperacusis.

Not sure how bad the Hyperacusis because I'm new to this at 6 weeks into it...I can walk around the street, can have TV on, normal sounds, but music and sitting in a bar with low music is too loud, shopping centers also. Sometimes at night the sound of the fridge is too loud...

I have to travel from Thailand to Laos by bus. This HAS to be done for visa run.

Here is some information on the trip:

• Bus is modern Mercedes, air conditioned first class seats downstairs far from engine
      • Noise on my phone was about 40-50 db at Idle(air conditioning compressor was loud, maybe because working hard to cool at first?)
      • Bus will stop for 20 minutes break 2-3 times
      Here are some questions:

- Can I wear muffs AND plugs for 12 hours straight without damage? (I might take a sleeping pill)

- Should I stay awake so I can take advantage of the 20 minutes breaks?

- Should I wear BOTH plugs and muffs? Or only muffs, only plugs or tough it out if it's not so bad?

Worried..:(

2. Foncky
      Tired

Foncky Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      March 2004
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Music. Balloon. Genes.
      I made lots of bus trips when I had mild T and mild H, including one in Thailand !

Modern buses like that are really ok. As you said, A/C and engines are the only things that could bother you. People are usually quiet and if the music is too loud, just tell the driver.

I suggest you wear good foam earplugs that you will remove and replace during the breaks, if you don't sleep all the time.

Put earmuffs on top of that if you feel the need to.