New Tinnitus Here... Need Advice to Keep It Mild

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by RyaG, Dec 5, 2016.

1. RyaG
      Volatile

RyaG Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear infection (swimming)
      Hi, I'm new to the forums here. I'm a bit new to T as well, I'm about 4 weeks in. I believe I got my T from an ear infection from swimming. I went swimming one day with some friends and my right ear got clogged for two days. It ended up going away on it's own so I did not think much of it. I went swimming again and my ear got clogged again and this time it did not fully drain. My ear periodically feels plugged, sometimes I have noticeably mild hearing loss in my right ear sometimes I don't. I'm almost certain I have some sort of ear infection, whenever I burp I feel something with the fluids is moving in my right ear (I'm sorry that I'm doing a poor job describing the infection I just don't know how to put the oozy feeling in my ear into words).

I do have a constant 24/7 T as a result of this infection. From a scale of 0 to 10 is severity I'd say it is a 3 when everything is completely quiet and I'm just sitting there stressing out about it, and a 1 throughout the day when I'm not focused on it and it is being masked by another sound.

While I'm presume the ear the infection will go away with medication and time, from reading these forums it sounds like T part is permanent and my goal is to keep it as mild as possible and prevent it from becoming severe. I'm seeing a GP in a few days and I want to ensure it doesn't get worse (read someones story on how a simple auditory test made their T go from mild to severe).

Any advice on what to do or what not to do would be appreciated!

2. Sam Bridge

Sam Bridge Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud music/gigs probably