Positive Attitude, Tinnitus for 10 Years

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Cernuto, Nov 5, 2019.

1. Cernuto
      Spaced

Cernuto Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise Induced
      I've had tinnitus for around 10 years now. Being a drummer, I'm fairly confident it's due to noise and stress. Recently, it has once again come back with a vengeance and it's not any easier for me than when it first onset. Although I am once again obsessed with it, I realize it's an unhealthy behavior which I'm trying to control through meditation, medication, and relaxation.

I have 30 dB hearing loss at 4-8 kHz in both ears. My predominant tinnitus tone is around 14 kHz in my left ear. Rarely it may go quiet for a day. Other days it's louder than the shower. I have no idea why. Both ears have multiple tones but they are not nearly as bothersome as the 14 kHz tone.

I have eustachian tube disfunction with some type of random popping. I have bad neck posture (aka 'nerd neck') which I'm working on. Maybe solving these problems will help alleviate the tinnitus.

I have thyroid issues I'm trying to solve. I had a parathyroid issue when tinnitus first onset 10 years ago. Maybe the strange thyroid fluctuations are related to tinnitus... who knows...

I use white noise, rain sounds, etc... to assist with masking the tinnitus for sleeping purposes. It has been the most effective thing by far. Sometimes I may listen to the sink run or use a white noise app on my phone which gives a little bit of relief during the day.

The idea of neuroplasticity I believe is true. I feel if the mind can relax enough to be able to focus on the tinnitus without causing distress eventually the mind will adjust. I don't believe this an overnight process. It takes courage, patience, and perseverance.