Seeking Advice -- I'm New to Tinnitus and Going to a Doctor for the First Time

Discussion in 'Support' started by rpalmquist, Jan 17, 2017.

1. rpalmquist

rpalmquist Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/01/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Concert
      For those of you who have gone through this, what advice do you have for me when I'm talking with the doctor? I fortunately have very good health coverage, so cost isn't an issue. Should I insist on some sort of procedure (e.g., MRIs, ???), some sort of tests? What do you know now that you wished you had known when you started your T journey. Thanks for sharing :)

More info:
      - I got T when attending a New Years Eve concert 18 days ago.
      - High pitch loud constant tone in my left ear.
      - It seems to have gotten worse over the past week.
      - I have some vertigo, and a few instances of wanting to vomit (very few though)
      - And a pretty big drop in my appetite.
      - Also, interesting to me anyways, is that during the night if I wake up during those few moments of "grogginess" between being a sleep and being awake the T is completely gone. It comes back to its full roar in the morning.

2. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      I would try get a hearing test and if you keep getting vertigo and sickness have a ENT referral and tests done.
      If only tinnitus I would give it 6 months a part from checking for wax or infection and hearing test as it could go or your brain adapt to it....lots of love glynis

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      rpalmquist

rpalmquist Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/01/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Concert