Someone Working with Development/Programming/Coding?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Visitor1538, Oct 3, 2014.

1. Visitor1538

Visitor1538 Guest

Hi there, just wondered if someone is a computer engineer or a developer. I'm thinking about going into that profession. Do you have some tips or advice on how you stay focused and cope with your tinnitus while coding and trouble solving? : ) I'm currently learning JS, ruby and C#.

• Like Like x 2
    2. undecided
      Breezy

undecided Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown.
      I don't have any specific tips but I believe that T can be distracting for any sort of work, not just computer related stuff.
      Keep in mind that most of these types of jobs are set in quiet environments (inside offices) so there's not too much noise for masking the T. I am a software engineer and I actually appreciate that fact (but my T is a bit reactive so I prefer silent places).

• Agree Agree x 1
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Visitor1538

Visitor1538 Guest

Some people I know usually sits with a headset with music while they code at their offices. So that could be a good way to mask while I code. you don't use any masking when coding at all?

4. Sound Wave
      Curious

Sound Wave Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Probably headphones
      Good quality headphones and music. Experiment with closed and semi-open ones. Closed ones are typically the best because they isolate the outside sound. For example AKG K550 is a good choice.

5. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Visitor1538

Visitor1538 Guest

Hmm okay, could experiment with some headphones, finding a range that doesn't damage the hearing and mask it somewhat : ) I also believe closed is best, because you don't need to have the music as load.

6. Sound Wave
      Curious

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Probably headphones