Stapedectomy --> SSD --> Tinnitus... Any Advice Is Welcomed!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by alexh, Jun 28, 2017.

1. alexh

alexh Member

Tinnitus Since:
      March 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Stapedectomy lead to SSD and Tinnitus
      Hi, I am new to this forum. I had a stapedectomy in March because I had otosclerosis. It went bad. I lost my hearing completely in the ear where the procedure was performed and developed Tinnitus. I am a professor and a researcher (not a medical one...), and needless to say, the T is affecting me a lot at every level. Any advice or known method to cope with it? Thank you

2. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      My son had his ear bones out age 7 and does not have tinnitus.
      It can take up to a year for the brain to adjust and tinnitus to settle down after the operation.
      Have you been offered artificial bones to be put in and give you some hearing back ?

Always keep music on that you find relaxing as helps anxiety and stress and helps distract you from your sound.
      Love glynis

• Like Like x 1
      • Helpful Helpful x 1
    3. GregCA
      Jaded

GregCA Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Otosclerosis
      @alexh - welcome!
      I'm sorry about your situation, as I know that the odds of this happening are pretty low, but they obviously do happen.
      Do you know what happened in your case? Did you get your hearing back for a while and then SSD set in?
      Is it possible that something in the surgery didn't work well, or that the prosthesis came off, or something else of a mechanical nature? Prosthesis coming off are a known possible cause of full deafness.

As far as coping techniques I'm not sure I can be of much help unfortunately, as you are facing the challenge of being unable to use sound therapy to drown or mask your T.