Suddenly Can't Hear Any High Frequencies in My Left Ear — Everything Sounds Muffled

Discussion in 'Support' started by johnsole65, Jun 16, 2019.

1. johnsole65
      No Mood

johnsole65 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      I don't have anyone else to talk to about this, and I've been in such mental pain today. I've gone from hopeful and loving to feeling true, real despair. I can feel the anxiety creeping on my back again.

I've had tinnitus for a few years, I believe it began when I abruptly stopped some medicine and also had a fire alarm go off near my head.

I am a musician and my hearing is very important to me, in fact THE most important thing in the world, since the way I escape and deal with any sort of pain is playing instruments.

I successfully dealt with tinnitus and it no longer remained a problem in my life for quite a few months.

I had a symptom that was something very unique (nobody can still tell me what it is) in that every now and again my hearing would "pop" suddenly. I will lose my hearing near completely in one ear and then have a loud ring, in different frequencies for 2-10 seconds and the go.

A month ago it happened, but this time it was different, it lasted for AGES and the ringing at that frequency was so loud it was beyond any other sound in the room. I had seriously muffled hearing in that ear for ages and was so afraid to even try out headphones because the pain of losing hearing is too much for me to face. I began to sink into real depression and like balloon you pop in the weak spots. Every time I was stressed my ears would go and further the stress of me believing I was losing that frequency or my hearing. The hearing was never obviously worsened until testing which phone etc.