Terrified Sound Engineer

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Rebelmoth, Apr 20, 2016.

1. Rebelmoth

Rebelmoth Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Sound engineer/one huge feedback blast
      Hello, fellow sufferers.

I just had to get something out about this affliction as it is really starting to scare me.

I have been a musician and a sound engineer for most of my life, but I value my ears so much--in fact my whole creative and monetary world depends on them, so I have always protected them with plugs once my mix is set, or shield with headphones, etc. I still had some very faint ring, but two years ago my world changed forever.

I was working with another engineer I hired one evening because I was too tired to do a gig alone after a long Sunday church service, and he made a mistake that must have blasted 6k at far over 100 db directly into my left ear. It has not stopped ringing since.

At first it was maddening, and then gradually seemed to fade, but in the past couple of weeks, it has come back with a vengeance. I know he didn't mean to make that mistake, but it is very hard not to feel anger towards him. He has been doing it for years and it really was an absurd mistake to make with my ear directly in front of a speaker. I am covering my ears with plugs and headphones without input as much as possible, but how long can I really keep this up? I spent 10 years getting to the point where I could earn an honest living just mixing church services and bands. I know have some slight loss around 2 and 6k, but I have been doing this so long I can compensate. I have had no complaints from any of my clients.