Three Things I Do to Mask/Lessen My Tinnitus (I Hardly Hear It)

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by idk, Jun 5, 2017.

1. idk

idk Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Disease/Concert?
      To give you some background information on my tinnitus: So, I have had my tinnitus for about two years. It sparked up around when I was a freshman in college and I am not sure of the exact cause. I have a rare disease where people report having tinnitus and I also went to a concert festival a month before I started hearing it. Also, another random tidbit, I got my hearing tested and they said I don't have any hearing loss. They say this is usual for tinnitus patient, fortunately, I do not have that component. Anyhow, when I first started hearing it the sound was so unbearable. I could hardly sleep or do anything. All day, I'd just hear this super loud ringing no matter what I was doing. I dreaded going to class or going to work because I could hardly focus on anything with no sleep and a blaring, high-pitched ring 24/7.

My ear doctor didn't help much with it besides give me a paper about tinnitus, all information I could find on the internet. He did clean my ears out, stating that there was wax against my drum so that might help it. It did not help though and the ringing was still as bad as ever. It took about a month before my ears got 'used' to the sound, meaning, it was not as invasive but still very present. It was still annoying and loud but it fluctuated and I could deal with it being there and focusing on something else. When it really sparked up was at night, like I believe it does for most people that I've read about. I would compare the sensation to a clock ticking, how once you hear it tick so much your mind sort of just blocks it out. It's still there, just not as present. For months, it would fluctuate in intensity and noticeability from 'this is annoying but I can deal with it' to 'this is my living definition of hell'.