Tinnitus After a Loud Concert — ENT Won't Prescribe Prednisone

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Ola, Jul 27, 2022.

1. Ola

Ola Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud Concert: acoustic trauma
      Hi all,

I’m new to Tinnitus Talk and to tinnitus I’m general.

I got tinnitus in my right ear from a very loud 3 hour concert. I also had muffled hearing, but the hearing had cleared up by Saturday afternoon. The tinnitus hadn’t. I went to an ENT on Monday, who suggested that I wait it out a few weeks. I had a couple of tests which showed normal tympanometry levels, and a normal hearing range from 250 Hz to 8 kHz (no hearing loss).

I wanted to get on Prednisone but the ENT wouldn’t prescribe it to me. I’m now worried that if I don’t get the Prednisone, my tinnitus won’t settle down and will become permanent.

My tinnitus is very high pitched, at about 14 kHz. I can ignore it most times except when I’m in a quiet room or trying to concentrate at work. To my knowledge I don’t have TMJ, ear pressure, hyperacusis, hearing loss or other problems associated with tinnitus.

As the ENT didn’t prescribe Prednisone for me, I’m currently taking lipoflavonoids and Magnesium supplements.

2. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Ola

Ola Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      I’ve heard that Prednisone can actually make tinnitus worse, but the ringing in my head is so unbearable that I feel like I need to try something, anything to soothe it.

I’ve also read in these forums that the best thing to do when you first get tinnitus is to wait, but this is day 6 and it’s still going strong.

3. tniuf
      Banhappy

tniuf Member

Tinnitus Since:
      1st 2016, 2nd 2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      If it's not from meds it doesn't matter, avoid concerts
      It seems Prednisone is prescribed very easily in some countries, yet not prescribed in other countries. Are you from the UK by any chance?