Tinnitus from Being a Musician — After 9 Months Getting Used to It (Struggling Some Days)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Max Voorhees, Mar 15, 2023.

1. Max Voorhees
      Blah

Max Voorhees Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Exposure to loud sounds: clubs, concerts, band practice
      Hey everyone,

I've been a lurker on Tinnitus Talk for a few months. I've read many posts about noise-induced tinnitus, success stories, and some not-so-hopeful ones. I just wanted to introduce myself and share how I got my tinnitus.

I've been a musician since I was 14 (30 now). I used to go to shows in my youth and not wear earplugs. When I lived overseas, I used to go to clubs a lot and played a lot of live gigs (still no hearing protection). I would listen to music with earbuds on the bus and would turn the volume up to not hear the bus noises. My Samsung phone at the time would even tell me when the noise levels were too loud to listen safely, but I always ignored it (I wish I did now, but that was then, oh well).

I came back to the United States in 2020 to visit for 3 weeks, and my return flight to China (where I was living) got canceled because of COVID-19. Some friends of mine got together for a Jam session and decided to make a band out of what we had since I was stuck in the United States.

We practiced in a small studio space for about 2 years before playing shows. We started playing music through stage speakers/monitors but then switched to an in-ear system to be able to record our practices and songs. The headphones I wore didn't cancel any noise, and with a drummer in a small space and me blasting the volume in my headphones in my ears to hear over him, led to me developing my tinnitus. My tinnitus started in June 2022, and I had to cancel playing in our biggest show at the time yet because of how much it freaked me out.