Which Ear-Related Tests Can Make Tinnitus Worse?

Discussion in 'Support' started by sky_high, Sep 19, 2018.

1. sky_high

sky_high Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      lexapro / stress / unknown
      I see that sometimes people report their tinnitus aggravating after having some tests done by their ENT or audiologist. I am quite new to tinnitus and I have been to one ENT and only had a tympanometry (even though I am not sure if that's what it was as he never told me).

Since I would like to visit another ENT soon and probably an audiologist, they will probably suggest new tests. What tests are beneficial and have no risk and what should I stay away from?

Thank you,

SkyHigh

2. coffee_girl
      Innocent

coffee_girl Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      All my life, but got worse 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced / Concert
      For some people, the dentist chair is considered a tinnitus endurance test. I know it's not ent related but many new t sufferers don't know how loud those drills are.

3. Natester1986
      No Mood

Natester1986 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      August 22, 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud noise exposure/Lexapro
      From dpdx's experience, the VEMP test, the ovemp test and the caloric test made his tinnitus much worse. I would suggest avoid going to an ENT. Just my opinion.

• Like Like x 1
    4. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      sky_high

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Thanks, this is exactly the kind of information I would like to know. But was it only one of those the culprit or any of them? I think completely avoiding going to ENT is pretty extreme... I want to inform myself first and in case one of the dangerous tests is proposed I will politely refuse.

5. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      sky_high

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus: