20 Years, Progressively Worse, VA Rated Me, but There's More...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by NorCalWoodworker, Feb 4, 2015.

1. NorCalWoodworker

NorCalWoodworker Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/1995
      Hi Folks,
      I have tinnitus. For many years I did not notice unless I was in a very quiet place, but it was actually always there. Over time it did get worse, but always, always constantly there. Finally met another T sufferer, also a Veteran, and he explained to me that he filed a claim for his T and after the second round, he was granted a 0% rating, which always baffled me... but, I began to talk to some others with T and especially Veterans who flew during their service. I was an in-flight weapons system/avionics technician and was regularly exposed to noise - lots of noise, loud noise.

It took me 2 rounds as well and I actually was rated at 10% from the VA. But, that is the maximum, so here I sit, going to my doctor for what appears to be adult ADD/ADHD and he has recommended I pursue the connection because he's had a few patients now, after much searching and consternation, find that they have determined a direct connection of ADD/ADHD and T.

I sleep horribly, and have only experienced more and more trouble with concentration, ability to even read a paragraph without losing my focus, and several other serious issues. Including trouble at work at the past 4 jobs.

It's hard and I am glad I have found this place because it is always good to be able to learn and share our individual and collective stories about T.

~ Peace (and always wanting quiet...)
      Jim

• Helpful Helpful x 1
      • Hug Hug x 1
      • Winner Winner x 1
    2. Ricky81
      Worried

Ricky81 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      July 14, 2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Assault/Contusion/Ear Infection
      Thanks for your service.
      How loud is your T now?

3. HalloweenScreamQueen
      Cheerful

HalloweenScreamQueen Member

Tinnitus Since: