7-Year-Old with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by Calypso, Aug 26, 2014.

1. Calypso

Calypso Member

This is my first time posting but i came across this informative and supportive forum a few months ago. Some background on me - I suffer from (what I understand to be relatively mild) tinnitus myself. I first became aware of it about 2 1/2 years ago. In my case i think it's due to too much loud music, and the final straw was when I was at a tourist attraction and there was an incredibly loud 21 gun salute right nearby. When I realised the T was here to stay, I suffered from feelings of panic and anxiety. I googled obsessively and totally fixated on it. Thankfully, for the time being, I believe I have pretty much habituated to it. I probably have this luxury because it is not too loud (although TBH it seems pretty loud in silence and i have had a couple of spikes that eventually settled down but at the time threw me into a total tailspin.)

Anyway, this is not about me, it'a about my 7 year old. He has had many problems with his ears for his whole life. He had ear tubes at 4, due to constant infections. Then he developed sleep apnea, and had to have his tonsils and adenoids removed two years ago. This has greatly helped with reducing the ear infections, but he still has huge turbinates in his nose and is a really noisy sleeper so he still has stuff going on! He has had many course of antibiotics due to the ear infections and now I wonder some of them were ototoxic. :(