A Year Living with Tinnitus (Since 2019 Elton Concert — Brisbane, Australia)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by MaxDee, Oct 11, 2020.

1. MaxDee

MaxDee Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Dec 2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Elton John concert
      Morning all.

I have done a lot of research and this great forum seems to have a great collection of 'real life' experience on the subject.

I'm in my late 40's & attended an Elton John concert at our Entertainment Centre late last year (December 2019). I never had any symptoms of tinnitus prior to this. Just the normal bouts that would last 10-30 seconds and quickly fade away.

I was a professional muso playing many live gigs back in my 20's and always loved loud music. Attended heaps of concerts & festivals around the world (mainly outdoor stages), but can you believe that it was bloody ELTON JOHN that brought me undone.....

Obviously an indoor concert venue exacerbates the volume more than an outdoor venue, but I'd never considered concert ear plugs in my life (as I would normally love the LOUD, LIVE sound of my favourite acts). I'd seen Coldplay a few times at the same venue (BEC) and the volume levels were fairly average for me.

But from the opening piano chord of 'Benny and the Jets'......WOW - it just cut through my head like a knife! We were in the first ~25% of rows from the front and towards stage left (RH from audience perspective), so my right ear was copping it. After all the concerts I had been to over 20+ years, the volume in the complex was bordering on painful (and that's a LOT coming from me!). It was 100% the loudest persistent 3 hours of blaring music I have ever heard in my life. Great show, but I had to sit down half way through as the extreme volume was too much for me.

I didn't have any insight as to the damage I might be doing until walking to the train station after the show with constant high pitch ringing.

Unfortunately, it's never gone away and with me 24/7 in both ears.