Acoustic Trauma Hyperacusis — Years of Overexposure to Loud Noises

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Redapple, Sep 5, 2023.

1. Redapple

Redapple Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic noise
      So,

I've been lurking here for quite a while. I've had hyperacusis in one of my ears since I was a teenager - partly because of my years of ear infections and also listening to loud music. In my 20s, I was a music editor and would repeatedly go to shows, sometimes I'd use ear protection and other times I wouldn't.

Now, 20 years later, I've had more incidences of hyperacusis, especially in both ears. I had a setback last year which got better about 4 months in and I learned I could live a fairly normal life. I can't really listen to anything over 100 dB without ear protection.

Unfortunately, I was exposed to loud noise about a week ago for a few minutes and ever since then, the burning and painful earache has returned. It's very disheartening as I was getting better and this setback is really throwing me off. I began taking Gabapentin again per the advice of a neuro-otologist I saw last year for the last acoustic shock. It seems to be helping but it's not something I want to stay on for a long time, though it does help with my chronic pancreatitis pain so I guess I'm going to be taking this for a long time, probably the foreseeable future.

Just wanted to drop by and introduce myself and hopefully get some sage advice that will help all of us.

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. gameover

gameover Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2023
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise+sinus
      Listening to anything over 100 dB without protection sounds insane to most of us here.

You mentioned burning and pain (this is usually called noxacusis now).

No perception of loudness hyperacusis? Sounds appearing louder than normal?

• Agree Agree x 1
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Redapple

Redapple Member

Tinnitus Since: