Can Acoustic Trauma Cause PET (Patulous Eustachian Tube)?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Lchops, Jun 23, 2022 at 8:00 PM.

1. Lchops

Lchops Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      MRI
      Hello,

I am fairly new to Tinnitus Talk. I got an MRI scan for my lumbar spine 9 weeks ago and it was extremely loud in there. In addition the headphones they provided as protection had music playing and, because I’m claustrophobic, I thought nothing of the loud music through the headphones, I just wanted the 12 minutes to be over with.

Well that was very stupid of me and I’ll regret it for the rest of my life. But I can’t go back in time. About 39 minutes later the ringing in my ears started. It is actually hissing/static noise.

I was already in pain from my herniated lumbar disc, so after the tinnitus, I went into panic mode. I didn’t sleep, eat and I started clenching my teeth.

A week later I developed a sore jaw and clicking and popping in my ears while swallowing, eating, talking and even while doing nothing.

I feel like this could be Patulous Eustachian Tube but how would this be a result of the acoustic trauma?

I know I definitely have popping and clicking in my jaw from all the stress this is causing.

Any help or advice would be very much appreciated. I haven’t slept in 9 weeks now and I’m sure that only makes things worse.

Thank you, merci.

• Good Question Good Question x 1
    2. John Joseph

John Joseph Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma
      Very interesting. I recently experienced an acoustic trauma as a result of next to no protection during a very loud MRI. The earplugs they gave me were garbage and kept falling out and I had no clue about the loudness beforehand.