Chronic ETD and/or Tinnitus? Consider Dust Mite or Other Allergies

Discussion in 'Support' started by Enterprise, Sep 28, 2019.

1. Enterprise

Enterprise Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Probably Allergies
      Hi everyone,

I've been suffering from ETD and Tinnitus for about 4 months now. I've seen my GP several times, who diagnosed ETD, and two ENTs who say that everything looks good to them. What I didn't think to do, and what nobody ever recommended, was to go see an allergist. I didn't consider allergies because ETD is not a typical allergy symptom like runny nose and sneezing.

I've had some experience with allergies before. About 10 years ago, I had chronic dry/red eyes, which my eye doctor diagnosed as meibomian gland dysfunction ("MGD"). MGD is very similar to ETD, in that it is considered a chronic condition, it can get worse and better as times passes, nobody really knows exactly what causes it, the standard treatment is steroids, and the medical professionals why typically see it are not trained in allergy. Fortunately, a client of mine was an allergist and she recommended that I go see an allergist. Within a week, my "chronic" dry eye and MGD was solved.

And so, I'm now banging my head against the wall wondering why I didn't even consider allergies for ETD. Suffice it to say that now that I'm treating this condition as if it was an allergic condition (for the last week), I'm seeing a dramatic improvement. If you're experiencing chronic ETD and/or tinnitus, I strongly recommend that you at least consider allergies as a possible cause. You've got very little to lose, and potentially a lot to gain.

Here are a few pointers, based upon my own experiences: