Do I Need to Visit a Doctor for a Possible Ruptured Eardrum After a Hard Slap on the Ear?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Matt3342, Feb 21, 2021.

?

Would you visit a doctor if you were in my shoes?

1. Yes

2. No

Results are only viewable after voting.
    1. Matt3342

Matt3342 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Auditory trauma
      Hi everyone,

I suspect I have a ruptured eardrum after my brother slapped my left ear hard. I have the following symptoms after the incident:

- High pitched tinnitus
      - My left ear feels full
      - Some pain on my ear which I didn't have before

It's been about 7 days and I still have the same symptoms. I heard ruptured eardrums heal on its own after a few weeks so I'm not sure if it warrants a visit to a doctor.

I am asking because my city is on lockdown and I'm a student (21 years old) and it's quite a challenge to see a doctor nowadays. The nearest walk-in clinic is about 45 minutes away by bus. Thank you.

By the way I have had tinnitus on my right ear for about a year; never had it in my left ear before. After this incident my left ear has tinnitus too...

2. matthew_bk
      Crappy

matthew_bk Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Feb 2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      sudden hearing loss - left ear only
      Go ASAP. Do you have insurance? Do you have an urgent care? If you're in a college, is there a campus health center?

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Matt3342

Matt3342 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Auditory trauma
      Alright. I will probably go visit a doctor first thing tomorrow.

4. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Matt3342

Matt3342 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Auditory trauma
      I feel like an idiot waiting 7 days to see a doctor. But to be fair COVID-19 has made it really hard for me to see a doctor.

5. Brian Newman

Brian Newman Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2016