DPOAE Hair Cells and Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Dr. Stephen Nagler (MD)' started by Ricky81, Feb 12, 2015.

1. Dr. Nagler is not answering questions.
    Dismiss Notice
    1. Ricky81
      Worried

Ricky81 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      July 14, 2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Assault/Contusion/Ear Infection
      Hi Dr. Nagler,

Have a question about my DPOAE test and if that is the cause of my T. My audiogram looks normal for my age. I'm in my mid 30's.

Background:
      My T started 50 days after a physical assault to my ears and head which triggered High intracranial pressure and an ear infection. Note: I got a Lumbar Puncture to fix my ICP, my T lowered but did not go away.
      My left ear is ringing more than the right ear.

1. Do you think the weak cochlear outer hair cell around 5700 Hz are due to the assault or something else?
      2. Is the dip in my left ear around 5700 Hz causing my Tinnitus, if so why would my right ear ring?
      3. Is my T more Neurological due to Head Injury.

Please see DPOAE chart.

My ENT thinks my T is more Neurological but I emailed my Audiologist and below is what he had to say.

Email from my Audiologist:
      I suppose it is possible that the tinnitus is due to less robust cochlear outer hair cell function around 5700 Hz in your left ear , especially since the more recent tinnitus match you did came closer to that frequency than we originally though. However, like I said, the emissions are weaker but still present which means there is still outer hair cell function at that frequency. We may never know for sure one way or the other.

Another email from Audiologist before I measured my T to be around 6000 Hz: