Explosions, Gunshots, Feedback Sounds — Tinnitus for Ten Years

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Thomas A Valko, Jan 12, 2021.

1. Thomas A Valko

Thomas A Valko Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      sudden loud sounds (gunshot, explosion ect.)
      Hey, my name is Tom. I've had tinnitus in both ears since 2010. The initial accident that caused the tinnitus was in 2010, when I was working on a movie in Detroit, MI (I'm a camera/SteadiCam operator for film and television). We were doing a giant explosion scene indoors on stage, and I don't think I had my earplugs seated properly... After the blast my hearing was never the same.

Flash forward to 2018, when my worst nightmare came true. I was visiting a friend who was showing me his rifle when it went off in a small bedroom. Since the accident with the rifle my tinnitus has been much worse. Not to mention I relive the accident daily and nightly and struggled greatly with PTSD.

I'm writing this today after yet another work accident last night. We were filming a scene outdoors with giant rain towers, so imagine the volume of a loud rainstorm. The assistant director needed to call out over the volume of the rain, so they used a microphone and speaker. They placed the speaker right behind me (I had no idea). The problem is the assistant director switched on the mic too close to the speaker and THE LOUDEST feedback sound came through the speaker only a few feet away from me. A sound so loud it paralyzed me instantly. I couldn't plug my ears in time. I got home that night and both ears were ringing out of control. I didn't sleep a wink last night. The ringing hasn't gone down at all. It's been 24 hours. I have had noise exposure in the past and it's spiked the tinnitus, and then it goes down with time. I'm worried this time is different because of how loud the speaker was. If anyone has any advice or thoughts I would appreciate them greatly.